Manchester City win third successive Premier League Title

Manchester City Premier League Winners
Manchester City Premier League Winners

Manchester City have been crowned Premier League champions for the third year in succession.

It’s the fifth time in six seasons City have won the Premier League and represents the 12th major honour of Pep Guardiola’s time in charge of the Club – and City now have an opportunity to win a 13th when facing Manchester United in the FA Cup final at Wembley on 3 June.

That match will be followed by a UEFA Champions League final against Inter on June 10, the second time in three seasons City have appeared in the final of Europe’s elite knock-out competition. In 36 matches so far this season, the team have won 28 and scored 93 goals, collecting 88 points.

City are only the fifth club in the history of English football to win three top-flight titles in a row, and will now start the 2023/24 campaign with the tantalising prospect of becoming the first in history to win the English top-flight four years in succession.

This success means there is now 119 years between the Club’s first major trophy win (the 1904 FA Cup) and the last, which represents the second longest gap between wins in English football behind Liverpool’s 121 years (1901-2022).

And the first-team crown also concludes a hat-trick of accomplishments for City, whose Academy sides had already been named Premier League 2 and Under-18s Premier League champions. This is the third time in as many seasons that all three championships have been won by Manchester City.

Everyone at Manchester City would like to send their congratulations to Pep Guardiola, his backroom staff and all the players on yet another remarkable achievement for the football club.

Click here to learn more about Manchester City.