Winners of UKinbound Awards for Excellence 2017 announced

UKinbound Awards for Excellence 2017
UKinbound Awards for Excellence 2017

We were delighted to announce the winners of the UKinbound Awards for Excellence 2017 at a gala dinner during our Annual Convention, held in Cardiff last week.

Taking place at the National Museum Wales, the awards were presented by famed Welsh comedian Rod Woodward in front of an audience of over 250 people. A panel of independent judges – Alan Wardle, ABTA; Kurt Janson, Tourism Alliance; Stephany van Willigenburg, Google – compiled the shortlist based on self-nominations from member companies, and the final winners were voted for by the membership.

The UKinbound Awards for Excellence 2017 winners are:

Tour Operator of the Year: AC Group

Individual Attraction of the Year: Cutty Sark (Royal Museums Greenwich)

Accommodation Provider of the Year: Macdonald Hotels & Resorts

Destination Marketing Company of the Year: Visit Greenwich

Service Provider of the Year – Transport & Sightseeing: City Cruises

Service Provider of the Year – Restaurant, Retail & Ticketing: Encore

Service Provider of the  Year – Professional Services: made

Regional Member of the Year: Windermere Lake Cruises

The Judges’ Commendation Award was presented by Stephany van Willigenburg to Visit Aberdeenshire for their commitment to the industry and desire to work with the travel trade to increase business to the area.

UKinbound Chairman, Mark McVay, also presented his Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to Tourism to Karin Urban, Non-Executive Director at Tour Partner Group – the parent company of Hotels & More.

Chief Executive Deirdre Wells commented, “Our awards are an opportunity to give deserved recognition to businesses that have excelled in their sector during 2017. All of our members have shown a positive contribution to the UK inbound tourism sector, and these awards allow us to highlight a number of standout performances.”